June, 12th. Conference: Potential yields and yield gaps in wheat. The bases of wheat yield progress

SEMINARIO que se impartirá el próximo  Jueves 12 de junio de 2014 a las 12.30 en el Aula Magna de la Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros Agrónomos de la Universidad Politécnica de Madrid.  Su título es "Potential yields and yield gaps in wheat. The bases of wheat yield progress" y estará impartido por el Dr.Tony Fischer.

SEMINARIO que se impartirá el próximo jueves, 12 de junio de 2014, a las 12.30 en el Aula Magna de la Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros Agrónomos de la Universidad Politécnica de Madrid.

Impartido por el Dr.Tony Fischer.

Tony Fischer is a crop scientist, currently an Honorary Research Fellow at CSIRO Plant Industry, Canberra, Australia, mentoring, reviewing and writing across diverse areas of agricultural science. He trained in agricultural science at the University of Melbourne and in plant physiology at the University of California, Davis. As an active researcher, he has worked largely at the NSW Department of Agriculture, CSIRO, and CIMMYT (Centro Internacional de Mejoramiento de Maiz y Trigo) in Mexico, studying wheat agronomy, crop physiology and genetic improvement, and publishing over 100 papers from these activities; he also did recognized research on stomatal physiology at UCDavis and the Australian National University. As a research manager he was Director of the CIMMYT Wheat Program (1988-2005) and a Research Program Manager at the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR, 1995-2005), overseeing international projects in crop sciences and agricultural resource management. He has travelled very widely in the developing world and has a particular interest in agricultural development. As part of this he is currently ACT Coordinator for the Crawford Fund and a member of the Board of Trustees of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI). He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Agriculture Science and Technology, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the American Society of Agronomy, and the American Crop Science Society. He received the C.M.Donald Medal for outstanding agronomists (2004), the William Farrer Memorial Medal for contributions to wheat (2007), when he also became a Member of the Order of Australia.